If You Need Healing, Do These Things

 

When I say the word “HEALING” what do you think of?

Do you think of your need for physical healing — a healing from some sickness or disease in your physical body? If so, I want to tell you today that you can be healed physically.

Yes, when I say healing, I am talking about the need you have for healing in your physical body. But when I say healing, I’m also talking about the need you have for God’s healing touch in other areas of your life as well. I’m talking about your need for healing spiritually, physically, financially, emotionally, and in your family.

Perhaps there’s a separation from God in your life. Perhaps there’s an emotional struggle, a fear, a loneliness, a broken relationship in your life.
If so, you can be healed spiritually and emotionally.

Perhaps there’s unemployment, a lack of money to meet your needs, or some other financial struggle you are going through right now. You can be healed financially.

No matter what area of your life you need healing in, you can be healed. Now some people ask me, “Richard, how can you say that so matter-of-factly? How do you know that I can be healed?”

My friend, I would not be alive today if it were not for God’s healing power. If God had not healed Oral Roberts — a stammering, stuttering boy dying of  tuberculosis at the age of 17 — Richard Roberts never would have been born.

I grew up in the healing ministry. The only Jesus I know or have ever known is  a healing Jesus. Even when I ran away from God as a teenager, still in my heart I knew that Jesus was a healing Jesus. And now as a healing evangelist, as I pray I see the evidence of His healing everywhere. . . in countless thousands of people all over the world.

Yes, I believe in God’s supernatural power to heal. But I also believe that when you and I need God’s healing touch in our lives, there’s something for us to do. For God will not do it all; He will never do what only you and I can do.
If you need healing in any area of your life today, I want to tell you three of the most important things I believe you can do to receive that healing.

1. Get a relationship with Jesus Christ as the Source of your life

The most important thing you need is a relationship with Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Saviour and the Source of your life. John 3:16 says:

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

God sent Jesus to the cross for you. Jesus suffered for you. His back was bloodied and striped and He was humiliated before men and nailed to a cross for you. He took on our sin and shame that we might be saved and have a Source for our lives. Let me illustrate what I mean by the word Source with a recent incident that happened.

The willow tree

A friend used to have a willow tree up on the hill where he lives. But one summer we had a severe drought in Tulsa. Water usage was high. And because it was, they couldn’t get any water pressure up the hill.

Day after day he watched that beautiful willow wither away. Finally it died. Its taproot just could not get to its source — water. The taproot gave the tree its life. As long as the taproot could get to water, the tree lived and was beautiful. But when the taproot died, the tree withered and died also. The secret of the tree’s life was in its source — its taproot.

In the same way, the secret of our lives is in our “Taproot,” our Source — God. He is our Source of life. As long as we are connected to Him through a personal relationship with His only Son Jesus Christ, trusting and hoping in Him, our lives can prosper, all our needs can be met, and we can bear much fruit.

The Bible tells us that the person who doesn’t know God as his Source “shall not see when good cometh” (Jeremiah 17:6). In other words, we fail to recognize and receive the miracles God is sending toward us. The most important thing in your life is to know who God is and then know who you are in Him. If you know who God is, you have a Source. You have something solid to stand on every day of your life and Someone to turn to when the going gets rough.

Get a relationship with God’s Son, Jesus Christ, as your personal Lord and Savior.

God is the Source of ALL healing

The Bible says, “The earth is the Lord’s, and the fullness thereof” (Psalm 24:1). Everything that comes out of the earth to make medicine for our healing is good, because it comes from God. Some people say, “If I get healed through prayer, God healed me. But if I get healed through medicine, God didn’t heal me, the medicine did.” It’s important to realize that God is the Source of all healing, whether it comes through the instrument of medicine, or through the instrument of prayer or through both working together.

Let me give you a personal illustration of this from my own life. Every once in a while a headache hits me. When it does, the first thing I do is
pray to ask God to heal the headache. The second thing I do is take two aspirins.

What I try to do when I feel that headache (or any other sickness) coming on me is not to limit God. I pray and I take medicine. I’m not really concerned about how I get well. I just give the credit for my healing to God, my Source, whether it comes through prayer, or whether it comes through medicine, or both. It doesn’t make any difference to me. I’m just glad to get rid of the headache. And I know God is the Source of the healing.

2. Get into seedtime and harvest

The second thing you need to do for your healing is to get into seedtime and harvest. The Bible talks a lot about seedtime and harvest. Genesis 8:22 says:

As long as the earth remains, there will be seedtime and harvest.

What does that mean — “seed- time and harvest”? It means planting and reaping.
Any farmer knows that the only way to receive a harvest is to plant a seed. If you’ve ever planted a flower seed you know what I mean. First, you dug around, put the seed in the soil, covered it, and watered it. Then you expected something to grow. Right? Did you expect a weed to grow? No. You expected a flower to grow because you planted a flower seed.

A farmer would look pretty silly if he went out to receive a harvest when he never planted a seed. But on the other hand, he’d also look pretty silly if he went out, planted the seed, and then never went out to gather in the harvest.

But you know, that’s what a lot of Christian people have done. A lot of people have been taught to give, but they’ve never been taught to receive. We’re missing God’s harvest of miracles because we’re not expecting Him to multiply the seeds we planted back to us in the form of the healing we need.

Jesus himself said, “Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your
bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again” (Luke 6:38).

I know a lot of people who say, “But I don’t want to expect anything back from people.” You’re not supposed to expect back from people. You’re supposed to expect back from God, who will supernaturally move on the hearts of men and women and cause them to give to you. You’re to look to God. God will do the multiplying, but He will usually do it through some human instrument.

When you give, give out of your need. And give for a desired result. Did you know God gave for a reason? He gave His Son Jesus to die on the cross for a desired result. He gave because He had a need. I said that one night in a crusade, and someone said to me, “How could God give out of His need? God doesn’t have any needs.”

Oh, but He does! God has a need. “How could He possibly have a need?” you may ask. “He’s up there in heaven. He has all those riches in glory by His Son Christ Jesus. He’s walking on streets of gold, where the walls are made out of jasper and the gates are made out of pearl. How could God possibly have any needs?”

God has a need because back in the Garden of Eden He lost man. The devil stole him away. And all through time, God’s need has been to restore
mankind back to himself. So He gave out of His need. God’s need was to receive a harvest. You and I are the harvest.

He gave in order to receive us. For God so loved the world that He gave Jesus that you and I might not be lost but that we might be saved (John 3:16).

Make your life a seed that you plant and expect miracles from God. You can do this by giving of your time, your talent, your money, or anything else that requires the giving of yourself. If you need healing, plant seeds of prayer in the life of someone else who needs to be healed. Plant your seeds for the desired result that God will bring the healing back to you. The Bible says, “Pray one for another, that ye {one doing the praying] may be healed” (James 5:16). This happened in one of our Oral Roberts University chapel services recently. The Lord had led me to hold a healing service for our students that day, and one of them was healed as he was praying for a friend.

This student had had a serious eye problem since birth. When he looked in a certain direction with one eye, the other eye would look off toward the side.
His eyes would not function together. It had been like that all his life. But during the healing service he began praying for a friend’s eyes to be healed.

This is what the student told me: “As I prayed for my friend, I said, ‘God, I really need to witness a healing in somebody that I know well, so I can truly believe that my friend’s eyes can be healed.’ As you prayed that day, Richard, I joined my faith with yours for the healing my friend needed in her eyes.

“After praying for her, I opened my eyes and looked around. To my amazement, my own eyes were healed! There was no more double vision. I could see straight for the first time in my life. I looked in a mirror and I could see that both my eyes were working together. When I prayed for my friend I had no idea that the person ‘I knew well’ would be me!”

This student planted a seed of prayer for someone else’s healing and received the harvest back in the form of his own need for healing. That was his seedtime and harvest. You can do the same thing.

If you need healing, get into seedtime and harvest.

3. Get a point of contact for the releasing of your faith

The third thing you need to do to receive your healing is to get a point of contact for the releasing of your faith. You might ask, “What is a point of contact?” A point of contact is something you do; and when you do it, you release your faith to God. Let me emphasize, it is something you do. I believe this story from God’s Word, found in Matthew 8:1-3, will help you understand why I say that:

When he was come down from the mountain, great multitudes followed him.  And, behold, there came a leper and worshipped him, saying, Lord, if thou wilt, thou canst make me clean. And Jesus put forth his hand, and touched him, saying, I will, be thou clean. And immediately his leprosy was cleansed.

This leper came to Jesus for healing but he made a tragic mistake. It’s the same mistake many people are making today. He looked at Jesus and said, “You can heal me if You want to.”

I know many people today who sit with their arms folded and say, “Lord, You can heal me if You want to.” The leper didn’t deny God’s power to heal. He believed that God had the power, but his concern was whether or not it was God’s will to heal. He said, “You can heal me if You want to.”

Many people today think like this leper did. I have a friend who could not make up his mind whether or not it was God’s will to heal. We’d have conversations about it and he’d say to me, “I know God can heal if He wants to.” Then his wife got a lump in her breast. It appeared to be cancerous. Suddenly he changed the way he believed about healing. He called and asked for prayer. I said, “Why are you asking for prayer now when you’ve already said the Lord could it if He wanted to?” He said, “Richard, now it’s my wife we’re talking about. It affects me; it touches my life too.”

You see, we adopt a different attitude when the need for healing comes up close. When it gets down inside us we think differently. It becomes “up close and personal.”

I prayed for my friend’s wife and expected something to happen. My friend had never expected anything to happen before. Now he did. He released his faith for her healing. He did something. When his wife went back to her doctor, they discovered that the tumor was benign. It was not cancerous after all. They removed it and she is fine. My friend finally made up his mind that it was God’s will to heal. He used all of God’s streams of healing — medicine AND prayer. And he found a point of contact and released his faith to God for the healing his wife needed.

But some people have not made up their mind about this. There are some people today who are just like the leper. They are still saying, “Lord, You can heal me if You want to. No,” they say, “I’m not against healing. In fact, I believe the Lord can do it anytime He wants to.”

And yet there’s something for us to do, isn’t there? The leper said, “If You want to, heal me.” Jesus settled the issue. Jesus made it clear once and for
all that He not only has the power to heal us, but He has the will to heal us.

For He stretched out His hand and said, “I will. I will. It is my will.” When Jesus said that to the leper, He was also saying to us today: “It’s My desire that you be healed completely in your spirit, your mind, and your body —  from the crown of your head to the soles of your feet. From your toenails to the hair on your head. I want you to be well. I will. I will. I WILL.”

Some people say, “Yes, but that was 2,000 years ago. Healing is not for today.”  Oh, my friend, but it IS for today!

The Bible says that Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Hebrews 13:8). He’s the same Jesus. He hasn’t changed. It has been, is now, and always will be His will to heal us.

But there is something for us to do. We must take the faith we have and let it go to God.

In one of my crusades, I remember praying for a woman who was in a wheelchair. She had been there nearly 10 years. I said to her, “Ma’am, when I pray for you, if all you can do is move a finger, move it. If all you can do is move a toe, move it. Release your faith to God.”

As I prayed for her, I saw her move a finger. I went on praying for other people, and when I looked back I saw her moving a foot and a leg. I continued praying for other people and later I saw her moving her shoulders and wiggling in her chair. The last time I looked, the wheelchair was empty and she was walking up and down the aisle praising God for her healing.

You see, there’s something for you to do. God will never do it all. You must take the faith that you have and do something with it. Her healing began with her doing something. It began with her putting her faith into action.

You might say to me, “Richard, I don’t feel like I have any faith.” Or, “I don’t feel like I have enough faith.”

My answer to you is that the Bible says God has given to every person “the measure of faith” (Romans 12:3). Therefore, you do have faith. And you have all the faith you’re ever going to need. Now you simply need to take that faith and do something with it. Release it and let it go to God for the healing you need.

I want you to know that whatever need for healing you have in your life, you can be healed. Let that be forever established in your heart, mind, and soul. But, my friend, let it also be established that there is something for you to do:

1. Get a personal relationship with Jesus Christ as the Source of your life.

2. Get into seedtime and harvest.

3. Get a point of contact for the releasing of your faith

My personal prayer for you:

I can feel the Presence of God flowing through me now to pray, and if you don’t know Jesus, then I take this precious moment to introduce you to Him… the King of kings and the Lord of lords. I pray that you’ll make Him your Savior, your Healer, because I believe you have a divine destiny to meet God!

Perhaps you’ve dreamed of being healed for years. Well, I have fantastic news for you. Today is your day to start EXPECTING A MIRACLE! Just let this prayer be your powerful healing point of contact, as you focus in on Jesus and TURN YOUR FAITH LOOSE!

Heavenly Father, I come to You in the mighty Name of Jesus, knowing that You are the Source of healing power. The Bible says You sent YOUR WORD and healed them and delivered them from their destructions (Psalm 107:20). You told the leper who came to You for healing, “I will heal you,” and HE WAS MADE WHOLE (Matthew 8:1-3). And You’re no respecter of persons (Acts 10:34). The Bible says You’re the same yesterday, today and FOREVER (Hebrews 13:8)!

My dear friend, as I stretch my hands out toward you now by faith, I can feel an extraordinary healing MOVE of God’s power, and in the authority of the Name of the living God, I rebuke the devil’s stealing, killing, and destroying power! By my faith, I join you in pulling down strong holds… strongholds of sickness, poverty, family problems, everything that’s unlike God, and I adjure the devil to TAKE HIS HANDS OFF!

In the matchless Name of Jesus, I command the healing power of God to come into your life, and for you to be HEALED and LIFTED UP and DELIVERED and SET FREE!
From this moment, I raise up a strong prayer over you, believing that the devil will not be able to penetrate it!

Oh, arise in your spirit, arise in your faith, and let your EXPLOSIVE EXPECTANCY soar up to God! In the Name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, I pray.
Amen and amen.

My, I can feel the miraculous healing power of God on me so STRONG, and I believe you can feel it, too! That’s the power of God’s Spirit reaching out to take the burden that you’ve been carrying and roll it off your shoulders! Just begin to lift your hands and worship God! “Lord, how I rejoice and give You thanks for stretching forth Your hand to heal, for bringing a great release of Your miracles, and I give You all the glory for it, in the mighty Name of Jesus!”

By Richard Roberts

 

Leave a Reply

